Best Awards 2005
homeBest AlertsPublicityBackground to BestJudgingThe Eventthe Vault
To Enter
Key Dates
design Company for Best


Welcome to the Best Design Awards

Entries for the 2005 awards are now closed. You can view the winners here.

The Best Design Awards is the annual awards program presented by The Designers Institute of New Zealand (DINZ) to showcase and celebrate the best work the design industry has to offer. The Best Design Awards encompass the disciplines of Graphic, Interior and Product Design. The best designs will be recognised through the following awards:

Best of Discipline - A 'Stringer', the bronze sculpture created by designer, Terry Stringer, will be awarded to the one outstanding success entry within each discipline of graphic, interior and product design

Best of Category - awarded to the entry which is the outstanding design within the category in which it is entered

Highly Commended - awarded to the entries which are considered by the judges to be of excellent standard

Finalists - awarded to the entries which are considered by the judges to be worthy of recognition

Student Awards - a certificate and a grant of $1000 is presented on behalf of DINZ to the best student entry within each design discipline.

John Britten Award* - This award recognises a person who has made an outstanding contribution to design in New Zealand

DINZ Outstanding Achievement Award* - This award is given to a person within the Designers Institute of New Zealand who has made an extraordinary contribution to the Institute and towards design in general.

* - Nominated by DINZ members and awarded by DINZ Council

Key Dates

Entries close - Friday 10 June 2005, 5pm

Extended deadline - Wednesday 15 June 2005, 5pm (incurs $50.00 late entry penalty fee)

Awards night - Friday 9 September 2005, - Aotea Centre at THE EDGE